Make Sure to Download Your Flickr Photos This Weekend

Image: Pexels

If you have over 1,000 photos uploaded to Flickr, then you should download them now or risk losing them forever.

Back in April of last year, Yahoo sold Flickr to the company SmugMug. In November SmugMug announced it planned to end the free unlimited image storage that Flickr offered users in January, and instead limit users to 1,000 photos worth of storage for free.

For people that don’t share that many photos on Flickr then it’s not a huge deal. If you have more than 1,000 images on Flickr, then it’s a really big deal. Starting February 5th those extra photos are going to be deleted, starting with your oldest ones.

If you don’t want to lose the extra pics you have two choices: You can sign up for a Pro account for $50/year, or download those photos.

To download yours, log in to your account and then go to User Account followed by Settings.

At the bottom of the page, you’ll see a “Request my Flickr data” button. Click that and wait.

Flickr will compile all your images into a Zip file or many Zip files depending on how many images you have. You’ll get an email with links to download them all once it’s done.

And when you do download those pics, make sure you’re backing them up somewhere other than just your computer so you don’t have to worry about losing them again.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram